Swirly Polka Dots

Hey guys!

Sorry I’ve not been posting with much regularity lately – I’ve been working really hard at my day job recently (I work as a private nanny and have been doing long/odd hours) so haven’t had much time to paint my nails, or get posts written! Here’s a mani for you now though. 

pinky-polka-dot-swirls-1

Please excuse the horrendous dragging/smudges on my index nail, I was obviously rushing the top coat application, gah!

pinky-polka-dot-swirls-4

I was attempting to do a spiral swirl of the two colours starting from the centre of my nail, but it doesn’t really show up as vividly as I imagined. The idea for this spiral dotticure comes from Lucie at Lucy’s Stash – at least I think it does! I swear I remember seeing a spiral dotticure manicure and tutorial on her blog at some point a long time ago, but having spent ages looking through her archives I’m having trouble finding it. Regardless, I’m giving her the credit, so pop along over to her blog and take a look at her amazing creations!

pinky-polka-dot-swirls-2

I used two coats of my new favourite OPI Alpine Snow as a base, then using a medium dotting tool I added alternating spirals of dots of Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine Grapefruit and Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine Pomegranate. I topped the look off with Essie Good to Go top coat (again, sorry for the dragging! Woops). 

pinky-polka-dot-swirls-3

 

While this didn’t turn out as I hoped, I still think it’s a cute look! It was a fun one to have on my nails, anyway. 

Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think of this dotticure in the comments below!

Laura x

Leave a Reply

