Golden Oldie Thursday – Black Base

Hi guys!

This week’s Golden Oldie Thursday prompt (21st August) was ‘black base’, and I decided to go neon!

golden-oldie-thursday-stand-alone

I started with a base of two coats of Barry M Matte Black (was going to use my normal Barry M Black, but it turns out it’s so old it’s gone gloopy!) then dotted my pattern on using OPI Alpine Snow followed by Models Own Flip Flop.

black-base-challenge-neon-green-dots-manicure-nail-art-1

My Alpine Snow and Flip Flop definitely aren’t a year old, so technically not Golden Oldies but my Matte Black is, and ‘Black Base’ was the prompt, so I guess I got the main part right!

black-base-challenge-neon-green-dots-manicure-nail-art-2

 

Models Own Flip Flop is actually the first Models Own polish I ever owned, but sadly it wasn’t a great experience. The second I opened the bottle and first tried the polish I knew I had a dud – it was just thick, thick, thick! It doesn’t really dry either – I had two coats on my nails for 45 minutes and could still drag the polish off of my nail… The Models Own customer service team were great though, and offered me a replacement (colour of my choice) as a gesture of goodwill for my bad experience. Turns out I can just about get away with this as a nail art accent colour but I did still have a slight issue with the thickness when trying to control dot size! I just love the colour too much to get rid.

black-base-challenge-neon-green-dots-manicure-nail-art-3

 

I finished the look off with a slick of Essie Good to Go top coat.

There are so many things this manicure reminds me of! Borat’s mankini (gross I know!), airport runways, some kind of alien/sci-fi thing… But I’m not really sure I like the look overall! I think it’s because I’m so used to having at least one accent nail, that having all nails the same (when it’s not just a swatch) just looks a bit wrong… Who knows?!

Anyway, enough about what I think – what do you think? Please let me know!

Check out the rest of this week’s entries here:


 

Laura x

Leave a Reply

