FingerFood’s Theme Buffet – Breaking Bad Nails!

AHH!

Ok, so this week’s prompt at FingerFood’s Theme Buffet is Science/Technology (17th Aug).

FingerFood's Theme Buffet

It took me a while to think of what I was going to do but then it hit me – BREAKING BAD! I’ve been wanting to do a tribute to one of my all-time favourite programs on my nails for ages, so this was the perfect opportunity. It fits to me, because Walter White is a science teacher, and of course the whole method of making the crystal meth is science so yeah… “Science, bitch!”

breaking-bad-blue-meth-hesienberg-nail-art-3

The title sequence background ‘thing’ (below) was my main inspiration for the mani, then I added Walter and Jesse’s signature blue meth to my thumb nail and, of course, Heisenberg to my index finger nail.

Breaking_Bad_title_card

 

breaking-bad-blue-meth-hesienberg-nail-art-2

breaking-bad-blue-meth-hesienberg-nail-art-1

This was my first ever mani using my own nail polish decals. I drew both Heisenberg and the Chemical symbols onto a plastic bag (like a freezer/food bag) as I was worried I wouldn’t get it neat enough/small enough on my actual nails. I then left them to dry, peeled them off the bag and applied them to my nails using top coat.  I’ve definitely learnt from this experience and hopefully next time I’ll be able to improve my technique.

breaking-bad-blue-meth-hesienberg-nail-art-4

breaking-bad-blue-meth-hesienberg-nail-art-5

The colours I used were: OPI Alpine Snow (thumb and index base colour), Barry M Cyan Blue (thumb), Barry M Emerald Green (middle, ring and pinky), Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine Greenberry (chemical symbol ‘boxes’ – so bad, I know!) and Barry M Nail Art Pens in Black and White for details.

breaking-bad-blue-meth-hesienberg-nail-art-6

 

For the blue crystal meth I applied striping tape, sponged on the Barry M Cyan Blue then immediately removed the tape to create this ‘cracked’ look. In hindsight, I think I may have achieved a better look (thinner lines) with a nail art striper, but I’m not sure. Even so, I do like this look! I haven’t used striping tape in ages, so this was a great reminder of how easy to use it is.

breaking-bad-blue-meth-hesienberg-nail-art-7

Finally, one last picture to show the brilliant, sparkling Emerald Green – how perfect is this colour for this nail art?! Love it. I finished the manicure off with a coat of Essie good to go top coat to seal it all in.

Phew, what do you guys think? I know it’s a little bit messy and unrefined, but I’m still proud of my Breaking Bad dedicated nail art and hope you like it too!

Find the other Science/Technology inspired manis here:

Laura x

 

 

Leave a Reply

