Punky Purple Water Marble

This is only my second attempt at a water marble, but I love it! Whereas with my first water marble attempt, I just swirled the pattern randomly and hoped for a nice effect, I did try and swirl a pattern more consciously this time. I’m not saying it worked with every nail, but I definitely think I’m getting better!

punky-purple-water-marble-nail-art-3

punky-purple-water-marble-nail-art-4

I used Barry M White (for a base), Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine Prickly Pear, Barry M Vivid Purple and Rimmel Lycra Pro Ultraviolet.

punky-purple-water-marble-nail-art-2

punky-purple-water-marble-nail-art-1

 

The only thing I’ve changed with my method (other than the pattern swirling in the water) is the fact that I coated the skin around my nails with Vaseline! It’s a method of keeping your skin clean of nail polish after you’ve dipped them in the water/polish. The theory is, once your nail has been dipped and removed from the water, you simply wipe away the nail polish/Vaseline on your skin using a cotton bud and voila! Minimal clean up! I’d seen this tip around before, but was very dubious (I had images of the Vaseline getting on the nail and ruining the polish). That was, until a friend of mine tried it out and recommended it to me. Seriously, this cuts out sooo many minutes of clean up! Just make sure you have a good coating of the Vaseline around your nails, and if necessary, give your nail a quick wipe to remove any traces before you dip into the polish. This is so much easier than laboriously covering your fingers in tape before dipping!

The whole manicure was finished off with a coat of my new favourite Essie Good to Go top coat.

What do you think of this water marbling attempt? Do you like the colour combo?

Laura x

2 thoughts on “Punky Purple Water Marble

    • Thank you! I can’t really give any tips as I don’t do anything special, but it seems to be that the temperature of the water is the most important thing – make sure it’s room temperature! Leave it out for an hour or two before you use it. Also, apparently some polishes aren’t great at water marbling – try out a few different ones šŸ™‚ Don’t give up! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

