FingerFood’s Theme Buffet – Inspired by Hols/Vacation

I’ve recently joined a Facebook nail art challenge group – FingerFood’s Theme Buffet – where there is a new prompt each week to inspire some brilliant nail art! I’d seen posts on other nail blogs under the FingerFood’s Theme Buffet heading and always thought it was a great way to get some mani inspiration as well as move out of your comfort zone! So this is my first ever submission for this ‘challenge’ and I hope there will be many more! FingerFood's Theme Buffet   Just in case you want to see the prompts, and a hint of what’s to come, above are the prompts from July-September. I’m starting with 10th Aug – Insp by Hols/Vacation. fingerfoods-theme-buffet-10th-aug-hols-4 So, my manicure was inspired by my most recent (and pretty much only!) holiday – to Zante, Greece. Zante’s beaches are home to the endangered Loggerhead Turtle and there are protected areas in Lagana Bay where the turtles breed and nest. The turtles are such a tourist attraction, however, and plenty of companies run ‘turtle spotting tours’ where you’re taken out on a glass bottomed boat in the hopes of getting up close and personal with the turtles. fingerfoods-theme-buffet-10th-aug-hols-5 So you can get an idea of where I’m coming from for this nail art, here are some pictures we took on our turtle spotting boat trip: turtle-water-inspiration-5

Beautiful! The water was so clear and blue, you could see every pebble and rock that sat beneath the surface.

turtle-water-inspiration-3

Some more clear blue water, and the amazing Keri Caves!

turtle-water-inspiration-2

We were so lucky – we came across this beautiful turtle within about 10 minutes of setting out on the yacht! He (or she) stuck around for quite a while, coming up for air several times too, so we got a great look at his cute little head, too! I was amazed at how gilded and sparkly the turtle’s shell looked beneath the water (though unfortunately didn’t get a great pic of that effect).

fingerfoods-theme-buffet-10th-aug-hols-1 So in my design, I wanted to capture the clear blue of the water, the mesmerising waves and the easily visible smooth, grey stones sitting at the bottom.  I started with a base of Rimmel Lycra Pro, followed by a dry brush coat of Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine Blueberry and the rocks in Rimmel 60 Seconds Little Bo Peep. I drew the turtle using a combination of a dotting tool in Barry M Black and Barry M Black Nail Art Pen. fingerfoods-theme-buffet-10th-aug-hols-3   I finished this manicure off with a coat of Nails Inc. Kensington Caviar Top Coat. I’m quite impressed with where this manicure ended up, as it’s quite similar to the design I had in my head the second the clear water/turtle inspiration hit. In hindsight though, the one thing I would change is the colour I drew the turtle in – I would have much preferred it in a khaki green/brown colour as I think the black is a bit too stark on top of the cool blue colours. Please let me know what you think though! I’ve definitely enjoyed this prompt, and I can’t wait to crack on with next week’s! Check out all the other entries for this week’s FingerFood’s Theme Buffet here:

Laura x

Leave a Reply

