Pretty Poppies!

Morning!

Today’s nails are inspired by this amazing dress!

Cocktails on a boat!

Cocktails on a boat!

I’ve actually entered this picture into a competition on Facebook. The beautiful dress is from http://ladyvlondon.com/ and they’re having a Hall of Fame comp – if you want to help me out and vote, go to here  and give it a like!

Anyway, enough of that and onto the inspired nails.

20140419_215316

 

I cannot explain how much I love these nails! I wore the above dress with these nails to the Christening of the twins I’m nanny to. I know the cuticles are a bit messy, but the poppies are too pretty for them to take much away from the manicure!

20140419_215047

 

My nails were such a lovely length here! Unfortunately it was exactly this time I started having the issues with breakages and dry, peeling nails. I trimmed all my nails right down, managing to keep the manicure looking good! An extra lick of top coat and the manicure was as good as new, with only a little tip wear.

 

Short but still pretty!

Short but still pretty!

All art on this manicure was done with various sized dotting tools – I did try a nail art brush for the green ‘stems’ but was after a bit more of a ‘rough’ look. Would love to try this again using a few more colours to create depth to the poppies – i.e. a darker red around the edges, and a few shades of grey/khaki around the black seeds.

Polishes used: Sinful Colors Big Daddy (red), Barry M Gelly Lime Green, Barry M Black, Kensington Caviar Top Coat.

Let me know what you think!

Laura x

Leave a Reply

