Nails of the Day: NOTD #1

As often as I’m able to, when I’ve done a manicure on my nails that I don’t think warrants a ‘special’ post or a tutorial, I’ll share them as a NOTD post!

Today’s NOTD are these lovely matte black nails with glossy polka dots.

20140508_204604

 

20140508_204612

 

This design is so hard to capture! I’m not the worlds best photographer as it is, but I think it’s the black that makes it hard for the camera to pick it up. I took a whole load of photos to try and capture it, so I’ll just spam you with all of them in the hope you get the idea.

20140508_203722

 

I used a large dotting tool to dot a clear coat polish, as evenly spaced as possible, on top of my matte black base.

20140508_203552

 

 

20140508_204936

 

I love the 3D look the gloss dots on a matte base creates. These are the perfect nails for tonight’s night out – it’s a friend’s 20th birthday celebrations and I’m wearing a striped monochrome dress. The dots would clash, but this ‘black on black’ look is perfect, regardless of the war of the patterns!

I hope you enjoyed my first NOTD! I’ll keep you updated with these as often as possible.

Laura x

 

Leave a Reply

